Marie Boudreau

Marie Boudreau is our only Canadian ambassador. A telemarker since her teenage years, Marie has been part of the Canadian national telemark team and has been competing since she was 15 years old, winning 2 silver medals at international competitions in the United States.
In addition to her passion for telemark, she is a physical education teacher and music teacher.
  • Age: 26 years old
  • Place of birth: Rimouski
  • Place of residence: Quebec City (the city)
  • Telemark speciality: sprint (my favorite discipline!)
  • At what age did you start skiing? I started downhill skiing at the age of 3 and switched to telemark at 12
  • When and why did you start telemark? I started telemark when I was 12 because of my father. He had already been doing so for several years. I had wanted to try earlier but it was only when I was 12 years old that my father found equipment of my size.
  • What do you like about telemark? The fluidity of movement that resembles a dance (I've always wanted to dance, but I don't really have a haha talent!), the physical effort required as well as the proximity to the snow (especially in the powder!)
  • What do you like about Meidjo bindings? Their lightness and great usefulness (touring and skiing in the resort)
  • What is your favorite spot for telemarking? Mont-Comi Park, a small resort 30 minutes south of the city of Rimouski, Quebec. My parents have a cottage there and the resort is my second home.
  • What is your next destination or place where you would like to go telemarking? I would like to go back to Western Canada or go to the American West for the first time.
  • Did you compete? What prizes did you win? I have been competing since I was 15 years old. I have won several medals in provincial races as well as 2 silver medals in international races (races in the United States).
  • What is your job? I am a physical education teacher as well as a music teacher. I couldn't decide which of my passions I wanted to share with the students so I decided to teach and share both!
  • What other sports or non-sports activities do you do? I do a lot of outdoor activities with my family and friends (hiking, slackline, paddleboard, mountain biking), yoga and a little swimming. For the past 2 years, I have also discovered the aerial hoop; this circus discipline which gives me the opportunity to develop my artistic side. I have been playing the flute for several years (in addition to knowing a few notes on a large number of instruments!) and I love reading.